Terms & Conditions
Shannon RBD Logo Shannon River Basin District
        Project Summary
        Water Framework Directive
        Public Participation
        Advisory Council
        Contact Us

National Development Plan
Clare County Council
Limerick County Council
Roscommon County Council
RPS Ireland




Welcome to the Shannon IRBD Project website

[Click here for Shannon International River Basin Management Plan download area]

See www.wfdireland.ie for further supporting documentation on the draft River Basin Management Plans.

See www.wfdireland.ie/maps.html for Water Maps - Mapping Information System to support draft River Basin Management Plans.

This website is designed to assist you in gaining a better understanding of how the EU Water Framework Directive is being implemented in Ireland. We are always interested in improving the website to accommodate the users so if you have any suggestions on this matter please email them to us at info@shannonrbd.com.

The Shannon International River Basin District (click here for a map) is the largest in Ireland at more than 18,000 km2 in area. It covers the natural drainage basin of the Shannon river itself, stretching from the source of the River Shannon in the Cuilcagh mountains in Counties Cavan and Fermanagh to the tip of the Dingle peninsula in north Kerry. It also includes coastal parts of Kerry and Clare which drain to the sea. It flows through 18 local authority areas and is also an international RBD as a small portion of County Fermanagh in Northern Ireland drains underground to the Shannon Pot.

Click here for a map of all RBDs within Ireland

Large areas of counties Limerick, Clare, North Tipperary, Offaly, Westmeath, Longford and Roscommon as well as significant portions of counties Kerry, Galway, Leitrim and Cavan are in the District. Other counties that have smaller portions in the District include Sligo, South Tipperary, Mayo, Cork, Laois and Meath, while all of Limerick City is located within the District.

The Shannon IRBD Project has been established by the Department of Environment, Heritage and Local Government to assist the local authorities in the Irish portion of the District to implement the Directive, and is funded through the National Development Plan. It is led by Limerick County Council, while Roscommon and Clare County Councils are the two other lead authorities for the Project. All 18 local authorities and the relevant state agencies are actively participating in the Project.

Click here for Shannon IRBD Brochure

Click here to go to our News Section.
Click here to enlarge this image